Baby McDaniel

Some of my favorite quilts to make are for my repeat families!  It is so fun to have them bring back a quilt I made for them in the past and ask me to re-create a similar but different quilt for baby #2!  This one was no exception!  I love the McDaniel family so much and it was my pleasure to reuse the same pattern, and in some cases even the same fabrics for this sweet little boy that would soon be joining their family!

Have I mentioned before how much I love using 2 1/2″ squares?!?!  Couple that with a sweet classic 9 patch with cornerstones and you have a pattern that’ll scream heirloom for a lifetime!

I happened to have some leftover fabric from their first go-around so we picked and pulled from and added some new fabrics to it in order to create a similar look with a different spin.  Baby #1 had a world traveler feel, a Caribbean getaway touch to it.  We kept several of those prints for Baby #2 and even stole the “Map” motif but spun it into an airplane/navigation theme.  After removing the red colored prints and adding in a few aqua greens then keeping several of the browns and airplane prints we had a winner!

I completed this package with a pillow sham to match for each little one…

…and a little woobie-‘cuz those are the best little receiving blankets EVER!

IMG_9374

This reveal was so fun for me!!!  This Mom knew exactly what was coming and she was still surprised!

IMG_9386

 

Leave a Reply

