5 FAQ’s about Quilting

thumb_IMG_8614_1024

There are several questions that frequently come up so I thought I’d start jotting them down.  If this spurs on questions for you…feel free to drop me a line-I’d love to make an attempt at addressing them for you.

  1.  Why are quilts so expensive?    For multiple reasons really-Cost of Materials being one.  a Simple Basic Baby Quilt usually costs between $80-$120 just for materials.  Seems crazy I know…I always try to find coupons and I try really hard not to pay full price for supplies-but I’m telling you…it really adds up.    Time is another big contributor to the cost.  I can spend anywhere between 10 and 45 hours on a quilt.  Factors that contribute would be: difficulty of the pattern, whether I’m stabilizing or not, how intricately I quilt it and the size of the project.  If you want to make $10/hours (which is a very small amt. for a quilting craft) your are looking at potentially a $100-$450 just in time:  not counting any of the supplies used.  Long-Arm Rental-If I’m working on a large project I also have to include a long-arm fee.  My gal charges a fee/hour for me to use her long-arm.  If often takes me appx. 4 hours on the long-arm to complete a project.  See-It just ADDS UP! 
  2. What materials go into a quilt besides fabric?  Batting (the “stuffing” between the layers of the quilt).  I typically use “Warm and Natural”-100% non-bleached cotton.  I buy it in bulk-a whole roll at a time and try to use a coupon with a sale price if possible.  A standard cost would be around $20-$25 worth for a project.    For a T-shirt quilt your adding to that list of materials the stabilizer.  It is generally about $2.99 a yard and each t-shirt needs to be stabilized before it can be added into the quilt.  Don’t forget the thread both for quilting and for the piecing process.
  3. Where do you buy fabric? I typically buy fabric locally where I can take advantage of sale prices as well as coupons.  I also appreciate being able to support my local small businesses.   Occasionally I will purchase fabric from fabric.com (which I’ve been extremely happy customer) as well as fatquarter.com (I’ve also had good experiences).  
  4. Do I have to quilt on a Long-Arm?  Absolutely NOT!  I usually only quilt very large projects on a long arm, however, quilting can be done on a standard machine fairly easily.  I simply purchased a walking foot attachment* (Helps the machine feed fabric from the top as well as bottom).  I found that quilting straight lines makes it simple and easy to quilt with a walking foot.  I will say, larger projects will take patience and the larger the project, the more patience you will need.  😉  
  5. Where is a good place to find tutorials?  Crafty.com is my very favorite place to go for help!  They have a multitude of different options for the beginning quilter who is just starting out as well as classes for the seasoned quilter!  It’s all online video based, you can see other people questions and Craftsy’s responses!  Craftsy runs their site in such a way that you can watch the classes at your own convenience, repeat and speed ahead if you need to.  You can also post your own finished product as well as see that of others!  Their classes run from about $9.99-$40.00 or so.  They do run sales, so keep an eye out!  My favorite things about their site is that I have my own account where I can easily see what I have, what I’d wish for and their search engine works great!  Check it OUT!  You will love it!

*A Walking Foot can usually be purchased at your local sewing machine store.  In my experience, if they service machines you can find walking feet for your machine.

Leave a Reply

